People

Who cares that I got a new phone tbh.

Recently I became a server owner on Discord, and I wanted to write this to get this out of my head (or something like that idk).

All the things that I have encountered are kind of what I expected, and it's also part of the reason why I'm hesitant to do it until around a month ago.

It is not that I was expecting this to be easy (because apparently maintaining a community where you can trust practically no one is tough) but it certainly gave me more headache that I initially thought.

(Non) demanding people

Two types of people in my server, one being people who cares, and people who don't. People who don't care won't care, they probably cared, but they probably see something they disliked, think it's 100% going to be permanent, and decided to not care anymore.

For those who care however, or at least those who actually do voice out their opinions instead of just hiding in the corner, are weird. Because instead of telling me what to do about the situations with reasons, they would tell me how it sucks then get mad then do anything but to tell me why I should've done the things they wanted.

Though it's not that I can blame them.

Bot

I made an AI (api) powered bot using discord.py, it is the gimmick of the server, and I've spent most of my time building it. It sucks, it has tons of room for improvement, but I'm the one who made it, and it's very safe to say that I have been spending my time on a bot that nobody cares about after their initial thoughts on it (like it's something set in stone), or some probably even think that it's some spyware or something (which you could do all the spyware stuff with a user account and so it's like why are they even there??)

It's also part of the people issue that I have to face, with me being inexperienced (especially with designing software), people can be highly demanding, or be put off with the stupidest reasons ever, and unlike personal projects (where I still struggled to figure out what I actually want at times), to make it appealing I'd have to go through everything and make it so that people actually enjoyed using it (as opposed to making whatever I want), while is stressful, I had fun and learnt a lot with it.

But that's why there's the next problem.

Server

I had a (vague) vision about it, there was an opportinity, I used it, I put it on, and I didn't bother with it much ever since.

There are times where I forgot about what I actually wanted the server to be like and things are very not well defined, which causes issues with the way people perceive the server, to the point where it also affected the way I think about it.

What I did was to appease new comers to let them do whatever they want, rather than having a set of stuff that they should be aware of and adapt to. Such a behaviour exhibits the old server I'm (still) in, I thought of changing that, and I fell for the same trap myself.

Now things are more well defined, still poor, but better than before, and hopefully will be changed.

On a side note

The bot will be open sourced after I made AI configurations possible!

Also I'll write more on ITCO, as I gained more and more experiences with dealing with code, people, and myself.

So how is this about people?

I've always disliked dealing with the way people are and let alone managing them, and to make a Discord server and wanting to properly manage it is a huge step for me. Now it's not to say that I'm going to make this the best thing ever (as the rules and the ideas of the server are very stupid, because it's simply things that I want to do, as an experiement, hence "lab"). It also makes me wonder whether or not I should take things personally when it's what I have been wanting to enforce on others.

Yes it's a paradox don't look at me.

____________________

RSS Feed
Email: cyi1341@disroot.org
Telegram: @H_Karp