but what about my feelings?

If you don't think the title represents you in any meaningful way, consider not taking this personally, I have no control over if my opinions on people happens to offend someone, unless I've decided to silence myself.

-------------------------

People are emotional and very irrational creatures that would take any chance they could get to ensure they have taken care of their emotions, but does that mean we should embrace it?

Nowadays more and more people are trying to have arguments based purely on how they feel about it, rather than if things may be incorrect in the other way. Here are a few examples:

Whenever situations like this happens, with the other person reacting strongly while I'm just sitting at my couch wondering if I did anything wrong, my conclusions are usually "I may sound way too harsh here and there, let's go far back, declare that I do not mean what I say, and rephrase the words so that they'll understand there's no negative intent". And to probably no one's suprise, their responses are usually "no!" and continue with their own tangent.

Being the socially inadequate that I am, I used the freshest new toy of the Internet called ChatGPT to help me figure out how I should improve my speech by providing my initial words to OpenAI and the poor Kenyan workers.

I don't remember exactly the words nor did I store them, but there's one point that I remembered very clearly: to first talk about how there's no malicious intent.

At first I thought it does indeed make sense, but the more I think about it the more I found it sad.

Commiting to the statement solves the following problems:

The reason that this sounds really sad is because, if you think about it slightly harder, you'll realise that people like this don't really trust you, or that they don't really trust anyone in general.

Such a trust issue is really weird because it typically is something that people with social anxiety would do, except there have been so many people who does that to me both irl and online it makes me feel like I'm the one that needs to be fixed.

They also don't have the tendency to applogise whenever such a thing happens, except for those who actually got diagonosed with something, which I guess is because they are ok with having mental disabilities being a part of their identity which they may use it as a shield.

And the worst of all is that, they tend to not see what's wrong about it if they are in the situation themselves, but would be able to spot the "bad things" perfectly whenever it's not related to them, if they happened to not take that specific thing personally.

This is more of a rant of myself than anything, I respect people who are like that and admired the fact that they are willing to stand up for themselves and take whatever action it takes no matter what. It's just that when it gets unreasonable it may tire everyone out, and as time goes on it's only going to get worse as the experiences builds up with both parties.

While I may need to fix the way that I talk to cause less unnecessary issues, when relationships are supposed to be already built up to a certain extent, denying the possibility of the other person not being "bad" is just as inhuman and disrespectful as treating others like they should only listen to reasons, and it's something society in general should be aware of instead of simply "accepting the way people are".

____________________

RSS Feed
Email: cyi1341@disroot.org
Telegram: @H_Karp